April 10 – Ferry, Route 10, Route 5

I took Jamestown Rd. to the Jamestown-Scotland ferry across the James river to Route 10. I stayed on Route 10 all the way to the Jordan Point bridge, south-east of Richmond where I picked up Route 5 all the way back to Williamsburg (Mapquest).

I left about 4:30, but when I went to my bike, which i had forgotten to cover up for the night, someone had stuck a pair of fingerless gloves in my handlebars.

Went to the gas-station and filled up and set my trip odometer.

I then got underway and decided to stop and take a picture of Colonial Williamsburg that I have to drive through every day. This is the Armory:

Then I got up to the ferry and immediately got on, but was one of the last:

My ferry was appropriately titled the Williamsburg:

Soon enough we pulled out of dock into the James River:

Looking west down the James River:

The ACTUAL James Fort (the archaeological site), with an obelisk marking the 300 year anniversary (1907) of the founding of Jamestown.

Ferry coming from the opposite direction:

Which was being tailed by an entire flock of seagulls for some reason:

Our destination:

Aaaand we’re here!

Route 10 was unfortunately pretty uneventful. It was mostly rural forests and a few little towns. I had stopped to get a drink and figure out how much further I had to go till the bridge when I noticed some familiar looking bikes; I had run into some fellow Triumph riders out there of all places.

It was a guy and a girl riding together, and she had apparently just dropped the Bonnie just before I pulled up.

I pulled off at the southern foot of the Jordan Point Bridge to get some pictures. I ended up at a marina with a good view of the old-school draw bridge:

I kept going and came upon another bridge over the Chickahominy River its confluence with the James. It was pretty deserted so I pulled over and took some pictures. The south, the confluence with the the James:

The east side:

Route 5 just on the other side of the bridge took me all the way back to Williamsburg. It too was pretty uneventful, but there were a few nice plantations. There was a several-mile stretch of straight-away with nothing around and a nice big tree canopy. It reminded of pictures of European roads.

Made it home around 6, almost exactly 80 miles later:

Location:Williamsburg, VA; VA Route 10; VA Route 5


Leave a comment